Future Makers 2018 Awards

18-Jul-2018 in


Future Makers offers a range of awards and supports to students and emerging makers.

It is a Design & Crafts Council (DCCoI) of Ireland initiative which recognises talent, potential and creativity. Its aim is to support the next generation of makers, designs and craftspeople to take the step from training into enterprise. Divided into student and emerging practitioner categories and covering a wide range of disciplines, the Future Makers programme recognises and rewards vision, innovation and excellence in both making and the creative process among students and recent graduates.

The Design & Crafts Council unveiled the recipients of the 2018 Future Maker awards at a ceremony in Dublin on the 12th of July where the 22 talented students and emerging makers were invited to accept their certificate from DCCoI Chair Breege O’Donoghue.

This year’s entries were assessed by judges Claudia Casali, Director of International Museum of Ceramics in Faenza, Italy and Philip Hamilton, Creative Director of Perch, Dublin who were blown away by the level of this year’s entrants.

For the first time the 2018 winners of the Future Maker Awards will also be eligible to apply for RDS Craft Awards in 2019.

The full list of winners is as follows:

Emerging Maker category

Future Maker of the Year Award 2018 (€3,500) Aoife May Soden.

Innovation Award (€1,500) Genevieve Howard.

Design Award (€1,500) Edward Coveney and Ester Gerrard.

Craft Skills Award (€1,500) Raychel Murphy.

Exhibition Support (€1,000 each) Alison McEvoy and Sarah Roseingrave .

Studio Support (€1,000 each) Pearl Reddington and Sandra Hartwieg.

Travel and Training support (€1,000) Ann McBride.

Student category:

Future Makers Student of the Year Awards 2018 (€2,500) Bonnie Kavanagh.

Innovation Award (€1,000) Maureen Laverty.

Design Award (€1,000) Lily Read.

Craft Skill Award (€1,000) Fiona Hurson.

Professional Development Award (€500) Aislynn Porscha Bagnall

Materials support (€500 each) Ala Slinkevich; Egle Banyte, Kieran McNeely, and Orlaith de Paor.

Travel and Training support (€500) Helen Costello and Niamh Flynn.

For more info, please visit www.futuremakers.ie/2018-winners


Related Events

Related Resources